New Leaders Elected to NEA’s Executive Committee

Delegates to NEA’s Representative Assembly elected today two educators from the Midwest to serve three-year terms as NEA Executive Committee members. The Committee is a nine-member governing body that is responsible for the general policy and interests of the nearly 3 million-member NEA.

More than 7,000 delegates to assembly voted to elect Eric Brown, a biology teacher at Evanston Township High School in Evanston, Illinois. He is the president of his local and a member of the NEA Board. Brown grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, and was inspired to become a teacher after meeting Maya Angelou at a celebration of Black history. He serves as president of the Evanston High School Teachers Council, as well as on the Board of Directors of both the Illinois Education Association and NEA.

“I’m honored to join NEA’s Executive Committee and look forward to continuing to empower educators to ensure that every student, regardless of zip code, has a great public school,” said Brown. “As trusted professionals, educators are best equipped to make school and classroom decisions to ensure student success, and I’m proud to bring my 16 years of classroom experience to the Executive Committee.”

Delegates also elected Shelly Moore, a high school teacher from Ellsworth, Wisconsin, to the Association’s Executive Committee.  Moore is a National Board Certified Teacher and an English and drama teacher with 17 years of classroom experience. Prior to her election to the Executive Committee, Moore has been a leader within her community on the state, local and national level. She currently serves as treasurer of her local association and is a past president and vice president. Moore is also a member of the Board of Directors for the Wisconsin Education Association Council and served on NEA’s Board of Directors for six years.

“As a teacher, I am deeply committed to the success of every student, and I’m honored to bring that commitment to NEA’s Executive Committee,” said Moore. “I look forward to working with members of the NEA to ensure that every child, regardless of their circumstances, has the support, tools and time to learn and a team of high quality professionals to support them.”

Their three-year terms will begin September, 1, 2015.

RA delegates also elected six fellow educators to serve on NEA’s Board of Directors, including four spots for At-Large ESP. The term ESP stands for “education support professionals” and consists of secretaries, para-educators, food service personnel, custodians, bus drivers, maintenance employees, mechanics, nurses, early childhood educators, and security personnel who work in public schools.

The following educators were elected as At-Large ESP for a three-year term:

Martha “Marti” Alvarez, a transportation specialist for Traverse City Area Public Schools in Traverse City, Michigan; Jacqueline “Jackie” Coleman, a school bus driver in Corning, California; Mathew Powell, a head custodian and special events bus driver for Graves County Schools in Kentucky; and Hasheen Wilson, an ESP at Youngstown State University in Youngstown, Ohio. Ashanti Rankin also was elected to serve a one-year term as At-Large ESP, filling a vacancy. Para-educator Julie Wickersham from Clarkston, Washington, was elected to serve a three-year term as Alternate At-Large ESP.


  • New Leaders Elected to NEA’s Executive Committee